Lovaza (Fish Oil) and Niaspan (Niacin)

Posted: April 13, 2011 in Supplements

Has anyone else noticed a trend over the last few years towards prescription vitamins to treat certain conditions, especially if they are not severe?  My cholesterol and triglycerides have been borderline for years and when they recently started to creep up my doctor prescribed Lovaza (fish oil) and Niaspan (niacin).  Many doctors would have gone right to the statins…my doctor knows I am big on natural alternatives.  Additionally, he must have recognized I am cheap, er I mean frugal, and said it would be fine to buy these over-the-counter.  I won’t advise anyone to do the same without talking with your doctor (I have to say that).  But hypothetically, if you did speak with their doctor and wanted to try these supplements, you shouldn’t go out and just buy the cheapest vitamins you see – read the labels!  Make sure  you go with a fish oil that has Omega-3s, including EPA and DHA.  Each 1 gram cap of Lovaza has approximately 465mg of EPA and 375mg of DHA.  And with niacin be sure to buy a product that has time release (unless you enjoy getting flush and itchy).  The Niaspan sample I was given has 500mg of niacin.  Again, check with your doctor.  I have been taking fish oil for the past year and just added niacin.  I will report back once I get my blood checked again (maybe  in 3 months).  I would love to hear other people experiences with these prescription vitamins.  Oh by the way, did I mention that you should check with your doctor?

Niaspan

Leave a Reply

