My Experience With A Chinese Herbal Remedy – Kong May

Posted: April 18, 2011 in Supplements

Can this Chinese herbal product actually lower your triglycerides?

For most of my life my triglyceride levels have been borderline high…..usually not high enough to be put on meds, but high enough for a lecture from the doctor.  After one visit, the lecture ended with a warning: if you don’t get your triglycerides down, we will have to try something more proactive.

Coincidentally, later that week I ran into a friend and mentioned the doctor’s warning to me.  He told me he had the same problem and his acupuncturist recommended he try a Chinese herbal preparation called Kong May, made by Meditalent.  A few months after using Kong May, his triglycerides were way down.  I decided to give it a shot and bought 6 bottles from his acupuncturist (it was cheaper by the 6 pack).  Several months later, a follow-up visit and blood work revealed that my triglycerides were the lowest in my five years of seeing this doctor!  My doctor was very surprised!  And so was I.

Could it have been the Kong May?  My diet was the same as were my workouts.  I take a lot of supplements, so my experience wasn’t exactly a controlled experiment.  Honestly, I can’t say for sure, though I am definitely intrigued.

There is not much information on Kong May, except for what the few online ads say.  The ingredients include: Cordyceps sinensis, Bacillus subtilis, Fructus crataegi, Radix salviae, Gynostemma pentaphyllum, and red rice extract.  The indications are for: High cholesterol, obesity,  stress, high blood pressure, diabetes, for those who drink, smoke, eat fried and/or  fatty foods.  Of course, I can’t recommend it and this post is not a Kong May advertisement, but I am interested to see if anyone out there has had experience with this product or any of the ingredients.  I do think there are many Chinese herbal preparations that have high efficacy yet are essentially unknown to the mainstream in the US.  At the same time, we have to be careful since many of these preparations have not undergone the same medical review as products in the US (though many have been in use for thousands of years in China).  Additionally, the manufacturing standards of these preparations is another area of concern.  Keep these points in mind before you experiment!

My supply of Kong May ran out and I was unable to secure more.  The online prices were higher, plus there was shipping.  In its absence, I started taking red rice yeast from Costco.  I suspected that red rice yeast was the important ingredient and was hoping this would help.  Unfortunately, my recent blood work revealed that my triglycerides had risen back to my old levels.  Geez, I wish they sold this stuff at GNC!

Leave a Reply

