Recent Studies on Coffee

Posted: April 24, 2011 in Health

I started drinking coffee at about 12 and have pretty much been an addict my whole life, starting every morning with a cup of coffee and finishing my day with a cup.  And often several cups in between.  Recently, I decided to cut out the coffee because I suspected it might be having negative effects on my health, mainly my blood pressure.  It’s been a few months and I’ve only been drinking herbal tea, usually with no caffeine.

Now I come across two new studies on coffee:

First this one from Reuters Health:

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/04/21/us-coffee-bloodpressure-idUSTRE73K7K220110421

This article downplays coffee as a risk factor for high blood pressure.  After reading this I am thinking maybe it’s okay to go back to coffee?  But then I read the next article from emaxhealth  and it makes me think I am on the right track:

http://www.emaxhealth.com/1020/coffee-fatty-meal-raises-blood-sugar-diabetes-level

This article essentially says that following a high fat meal with a cup of coffee (who doesn’t like doing that?) raises your blood sugar levels to dangerous levels.  It seems that the caffeine interferes with the normal release of insulin.  This is important if you are predisposed to type II diabetes.

Based on these articles, my recommendation is moderation.  Enjoying a morning coffee after a low-fat breakfast is probably fine for most healthy people.  However, after a heavy meal, it’s probably a good idea to switch to a non-caffeinated beverage, especially if you have concerns about your blood sugar.  For now, I will stay with the herbal tea…..I am actually starting to enjoy the variety!

Stay healthy!

Comments
  1. Thank you for this! I totally agree moderation is key, but coffee is a lovely addiction to have, I won’t be giving it up anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

